Vishweshwar Hegde elected new speaker

Bengaluru, Jul 31:

Senior BJP MLA Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri has been elected speaker of Karnataka assembly as he is the only candidate to file his nomination papers for the post on Tuesday.

At expiry of the deadline at 12 noon, Kageri, six-time MLA, was the only one to have filed the nomination papers for the post, which fell vacant after K R Ramesh Kumar quit on Monday.

Chief minister B S Yediyurappa and BJP leaders Govind Karjol, R Ashok, Jagadish Shettar, K S Eshwarappa and S Suresh Kumar were present when Kageri submitted his nominations to the Karnataka Assembly secretary M K Vishalakshi.

Ramesh Kumar had resigned after a 14-month long tenure under the Congress-JDS coalition government on Monday after the three-day old B S Yediyurappa ministry won the vote of confidence in the assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *