President to administer oath of office & secrecy Modi to become PM for second time on May 30

New Delhi, May 24:

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) swept the Lok Sabha elections on Thursday winning a whopping 350 seats with BJP alone capturing 303 seats. The NDA is all set to form government at the centre for the second time.

The Union Cabinet will meet this evening, followed by the Union Council of Minister. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will then submit his resignation to President Ram Nath Kovind. The Union Cabinet will meet Friday evening to recommend the dissolution of the 16th Lok Sabha.

The meet will be held a day after the counting of votes for the Lok Sabha elections in which the NDA is all set to retain power. After the Cabinet’s recommendation is passed in the form of a resolution, President Ram Nath Kovind will dissolve the present Lok Sabha, the term of which is ending on June 3.

The 17th Lok Sabha has to be constituted before June 3 and the process to form a new House will be initiated when the three Election Commissioners meet the President in the next few days to hand over the list of newly-elected members.

After the meeting of the Union Cabinet, the Council of Ministers, which also comprises ministers of state, will meet at the South Block office of the prime minister. Narendra Modi will be sworn in as Prime Minister for the second time on May 30 along with his cabinet colleagues.  President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and his ministerial colleagues. Earlier, Mr Modi is likely to call on the President on May 26.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *