Peaceful polling reported in parliament election: CM Palanisamy, DMK president Stalin stood in Q to cast votes

Chennai, Apr 18:

Almost six crore voters will be exercising their franchise in Tamil Nadu when the State votes for 38 Parliamentary constituencies and by-polls to 18 Assembly constituencies on Thursday.

The voters will choose between 822 candidates contesting for the 38 Lok Sabha constituencies. A total of 269 candidates are in the fray for the bye-elections. While voting is on in 18-Assembly seats, the polling for the remaining four seats will be held on May 19.

Chief Minister Edappadi Palanisamy cast his vote at Edappadi Siluvampalayam coming under the Salem parliament constituency. Deputy chief minister O. Panneerselvam cast his vote at a polling station in Periakulam accompanied by his family members. Standing in the queue for over 45 minutes, he exercised his vote.

DMK president MK Stalin along with his wife Durga went the polling centre at Teynampet and cast his vote. “this is going to be a crucial election. Therefore, all the people should cast their votes” he said.

BJP state president and Thoothukudi BJP candidate Tamilisai Soundararajan cast her vote at the booth in Saligramam. She told media persons that she would win the Thoothukudi seat and that the BJP-AIADMK alliance candidates also will win the elections.

Minister S P Velumani cast his vote at Sugunapuram in Coimbatore followed by Sengottaiyan at Kullanpalayam near Gobi. Ministers OS Manian and M R Vijayabaskar cast their votes at Oradiyampulam near Thalaignayiru and Karur respectively. Minister Sevur Ramachandran cast his vote at Sevur near Arani.

Sivagangai Congress candidate Karti Chidambaram cast his vote along with his mother Nalini Chidambaram and wife Srinidhi at a booth in Karaikudi. Former minister Chidambaram also cast his vote.

Thoothukudi DMK candidate Kanimozhi cast her vote at Ebbas higher secondary school at Mylapore. Kanimozhi told reporters that she was confident of the DMK-front winning the polls. She also said that the IT raids were targeted at opposition parties.

AMMK deputy general secretary Dinakaran cast his vote at Besant nagar. He said the rights of the state have been affected in Modi’s rule. The people are waiting for a change of the rulers, he added. PMK’s Dharmapuri candidate Anbumani Ramadoss cast his vote at Tindivanam. BJP’s Sivagangai candidate Raja cast his vote at Karaikudi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *